OTTAWA (April 21, 2020) –

Dear Mr. Berthold:

I am writing to you in your capacity of critic/shadow cabinet for the Minister of Infrastructure and Communities.

We represent Canada’s thirty accredited zoos and aquariums. They are held to the highest standard of operations and care through a rigorous certification process and oversight. We welcome twelve million visitors each year contributing tens of millions of dollars to local economies. Like any other business, Coronavirus has hit accredited zoos hard, they are closed with no revenue coming through the gates.

Last week we wrote the Minister of Infrastructure expressing our support for this government’s effort to seek out ‘shovel ready’ infrastructure projects as one way to stimulate the Canadian economy.

From entrances, pathways, landscaping environments for the animals to new HVAC requirements throughout a zoo or aquarium, Canada’s Accredited Zoos and Aquariums stand ready with projects we believe will help to stimulate their respective local economies.

We are canvassing our member institutions for a list of projects.

With only one day of live questioning in the House of Commons, even with the use of technology, holding the government to account is a challenge. We are seeking your support of shovel ready projects from Canada’s thirty accredited zoos and aquariums be eligible under any Infrastructure Canada initiative as a result of COVID-19. If provided with the opportunity, it would be great if the Minister could be asked a question on this topic during Question Period.

Eleven caucus colleagues with an accredited zoo or aquarium in their constituency have received this letter.

In the meantime, I welcome the opportunity to discuss additional criteria to move forward, I can be reached at the telephone numbers below (mobile phone is best) or by email at



Jim Facette
Executive Director
Canada’s Accredited Zoos and Aquariums
Mobile: (613) 850-2669
Office:   (613) 627-3779


cc:  Mr. Marty Morantz, M.P.

Mr. David Sweet, M.P.

Mrs. Cathy McLeod, M.P.

Mr. Tony Baldnelli, M.P.

Mr. Len Webber, M.P.

Mr. James Cumming, M.P.

Mr. Tako Van Popta, M.P.

The Honourable Peter Kent, P.C., M.P.

Mr. Tony Baldinelli, M.P.

Mr. Corey Tocher, M.P.

Mr. Kelly McCauley, M.P.

Back To Main


9 - 2020 Lanthier Drive
BOX 107, Orleans, Ontario
K4A 3V4

Site Map